About Our Texas Parent-Taught Drivers Education Course

With Parent-Taught Drivers Ed, teen drivers can work with a parent or guardian to learn safe driving skills and the rules of the road. Your parent or another qualified instructor will help you complete our cq9跳高高中大奖视频-approved course and supervise your 44 hours of required behind-the-wheel practice. Plus, you could save some serious cash because you won't have to pay for in-person lessons to get 44 hours of experience behind the wheel. Learn more about the Parent-Taught Drivers Education Program.

Here's what you'll learn in our 100% online course:

  • Traffic Laws
  • Drivers Ed Preparation
  • Vehicle Movements
  • Risk Reduction and Management
  • Distractions
  • Alcohol and Other Drugs
  • Adverse Conditions
  • And more
$.Reg $99
Sign Up Now

Free Study Guide included to help you pass the exam! ($9.95 Value)

Prepare for your exam by learning the basic rules of the road. Our study guide teaches you how to minimize risk and avoid collisions through defensive driving strategies.

Why Choose Texas Driving School for Driver Ed?

Our online training program is one of the most convenient and effective ways for teens to learn how to drive and satisfy state requirements for their learner's permit. You can complete the course at your own pace, switching between online learning and behind-the-wheel driving practice with a parent. After the first six hours of instruction, you can take the included online learner's permit exam and apply for your permit. This program helps students and parents connect on the important topics of driving safety and ensures qualified adult guidance during practice driving hours.

About Texas Learner's Permit

Teens and their parents are required to request state approval to participate in Parent-Taught Drivers Ed by completing a cq9跳高高中大奖视频 application. Once you have been approved, the cq9跳高高中大奖视频 will send you a Parent Taught Driver Ed Program Guide filled with information and forms. Once you have your cq9跳高高中大奖视频 guide, you will be able to begin the online course material necessary to apply for your first Texas learner's permit and driver's license. The Parent Taught Program is an alternative for opting to take Texas drivers ed in formal school setting, but it also comes with some important roles and responsibilities for teens and parents.

Teens 15–17 can apply for their learner's permit after completing the first unit. The student and parent or legal guardian must bring all required forms (which are included in the program guide you receive from the cq9跳高高中大奖视频) to their local Texas Department of Public Safety office.

Take Your Learner's Permit Test Online

Students of our parent-taught online drivers ed program can take an online permit exam and skip the stress and hassle of taking the written test at the DPS. Our course includes the DPS-approved online permit exam, a convenient option that allows you to take the official learner's permit test online in the comfort of your home. Teens who elect to take the learner's permit test online will receive notation on their certificate as proof of completion; students who do not take the test online will be required to complete the exam at the DPS office. If you have any questions about this process, simply contact our live 24/7 support and we will help to answer any questions you may have about Texas online drivers ed.

How old do I need to be to take Parent-Taught Drivers Education?

If you're 14–17 years old, you're eligible for Texas Parent-Taught Drivers Ed. You can start the course as early as 14 years of age, but you have to wait until you turn 15 to apply for your learner's permit.

How long is the Parent-Taught Drivers Education course?

The online drivers ed course is a state-required minimum of 32 hours of instruction. The first module, which teens must complete to get a learner's permit, is six hours long. You can complete Texas drivers ed at your own pace and take breaks anytime throughout the course.

Who can be an instructor for Parent-Taught Drivers Ed?

Most teens complete the course with the help of a parent. Your instructor can also be a:

  • Step-parent
  • Grandparent
  • Step-grandparent
  • Foster parent
  • Legal guardian

Qualified instructors cannot have any of the following on their record:

  • A DWI conviction
  • A criminal negligent homicide conviction
  • 6 or more points on their license
  • A suspended, forfeited, or revoked license within the past three years

Questions? Visit our FAQs